Parliament of Canada – The Basic Structure

The Parliament of Canada is seated at Parliament Hill in Ottawa, and it’s the highest legislative body of Canada. Canadian Monarch, the governor general and an upper house, the Senate and the lower house, the House of Commons make the Parliament of Canada. Each element of this structure has its one officers and organizations. Based on the constitutional convention, the House of Commons is dominant, while the Senate and monarch rarely oppose its will.  The Senate checks the legislation from a less partisan view, and monarch transforms bills into laws.


The governor general summons and appoints senators, 105 of them based on the recommendation prime minister provides. The Canadian voters elect the 388 members of House of Common. The general governor also has the ability to summon the parliament. On the other hand, the only monarch can dissolve the parliament and call for another election.


The Parliament of Canada has three parts, the monarch, the Senate and the House of Commons. Each of them has the specific tasks and work together within the legislative process. They inherited this format form the UK and nearly has the identical system as the Parliament of Westminster.


Only people who sit in the House of Commons are called the members of the parliament and this term never applies to senators, even though, the Senate is the part of the Parliament of Canada. The senators don’t have significant legislative power, but they have a higher position in the national order.


The monarch’s place in parliament is defined by the Constitution Act and different conventions. The monarch doesn’t participate in the legislative process. Members of two houses are obligated to express their loyalty to the monarch and defend her authority. All parliamentarians take the Oath of Allegiance before they claim their seats.


The upper house of Parliament called the Senate has 105 individuals appointed by the governor general, based on the prime minister’s advice. People who are elected, must be at least 30 years old, be subject of the monarch and have a net worth if at least $4,000 and also owning land in net worth of $4,000 in the province they are residing. The Senate is equally divided into four geographic regions.